Frequently Asked Questions About Drunk Driving Cases
One of the many types of cases I aggressively defend is drunk driving. Whether you have been arrested for or already charged with an OWI (operating while intoxicated) or DUI (driving under the influence), it is important to ensure your rights are protected. At The Law Office of John Alt, I am a former magistrate judge who provides clients with the information and representation they need to fight for their rights and freedom.
What are some of the consequences of an OWI/DUI conviction?
Common penalties for driving under the influence include:
- Jail time
- Required ignition interlock device
- License suspension
If you use a vehicle to get to work, or if your vehicle is your work, license
suspensions associated with drunk driving can be very punitive. In fact,
administrative license suspensions for drunk driving in Indiana range
from 180 days to two years, to life.
What happens when you get your first OWI in Indiana?
In Indiana, if you are convicted of operating while intoxicated for the first time, you can face serious penalties depending on the circumstances surrounding your case. Possible penalties for a first time DUI in Indiana include:
- Class C misdemeanor: Punishable by a $500 fine, 60 days in jail and up to 60 days license suspension
- Class A misdemeanor: Punishable by a $5,000 fine, one year in jail and
up to one-year license suspension
- Level 6 felony: Punishable by up to a $10,000 fine, six months to two and
one-half years in jail, and six months to two and one-half years license
Should I fight a DUI?
Sometimes, it feels as though the public takes the attitude that everybody gets a DUI eventually, it’s no big deal. This is simply not the truth. DUI convictions can be deceptively costly even years after you are first charged. A first time DUI can end up costing you:
- At least $1,000 after fees
- Serious increases in driver’s insurance
- A mark on your record.
If you are facing DUI charges, it is your right to fight to keep your record as clean as possible. While one DUI may not seem like a big deal, it leaves you vulnerable to serious consequences if you have any more lapses in judgment later on. A second DUI could result in a felony conviction, which could mean years of jail time and potential fines of over $10,000.